Programs

Author Visits and Online Chats.  Programs can be created to suit any audience, pre-K to adult.
 

 

 

Sample Programs

PROGRAM 1

sc-programs1

“A Day in the Life of a Children’s Book Writer”

 In a funny and informative PowerPoint presentation, Stephanie Calmenson, author of such books as Dinner At The Panda Palace; The Principal’s New Clothes; Ollie’s School Day: A Yes-and-No Book; Late for School!; and the Ready…Set…Dogs! series (with Joanna Cole), explores the making of a book from idea to publication. Topics may include “Choices and Challenges in Writing”, “How to Write Nonfiction”, “What If — Letting Your Imagination Lead the Way.” The author talks about working with others—artists, co-authors, editors; shares a visit with a publisher; and reads selections from her work. The presentation happily features the author’s dogs — Rosie, star of Rosie, A Visting Dog’s Story, which Smithsonian Magazine called “one of the outstanding nonfiction titles of the year” and Harry, star of May I Pet Your Dog? The How-To Guide for KIDS Meeting DOGS (and DOGS Meeting KIDS), a Horn Book Fanfare title and ALA Children’s Video Award Winner.

 

PROGRAM 2

sc-programs2.jpg

“All About Dogs” 

In her shaggy, waggy — not to mention educational — Powerpoint presentation Stephanie Calmenson talks about writing nonfiction, introduces audiences to an irresistible group of dogs both real and imagined, and shares important lessons about kindness, respect, and safety. The program includes the author’s own dogs: Rosie, star of Rosie, A Visting Dog’s Story, which Smithsonian Magazine called, “one of the outstanding nonfiction books of the year” and Harry, star of May I Pet Your Dog? The How-To Guide for KIDS Meeting DOGS (and DOGS Meeting KIDS), the first kid-and-dog safety book, a Horn Book Fanfare selection and ALA Children’s Video Award Winner.  This program can be geared to audiences from pre-K to adult and tailored to meet the  needs of any curriculum.  To “meet” Rosie and Harry, please click on their links.

 

CONTACT

stephanie@stephaniecalmenson.com

Some emails never reach me so please forgive me if you do not get a reply. You can also contact me through my publishers.

 

Scholastic: Antonio Gonzalez – hagonzalez@scholastic.com
Clarion Books: Jennifer Groves – jennifer_groves@hmco.com
HarperCollins: Elyse Marshall – elyse.marshall@harpercollins.com
Lerner: Elizabeth Dingmann – EDingmann@lernerbooks.com
Henry Holt: Amy Allen – Amy.Allen@hholt.com
Holiday House: Hayley Gonnason – hgonnason@holidayhouse.com
Islandport Press: Melissa Kim –melissakim@islandportpress.com

 

Online Chats

Balkin Buddies – Catherine Balkin – Catherine@balkinbuddies.com

 

References

Please visit my References page.